top of page

“There is no friend as

   loyal as a book.”


                ― Ernest Hemingway

      The Whole Booke of     

        Psalmes Faithfully  

           Translated into

            English Metre

     Cambridge, MA: 1640

This humble and well-worn hymnal was printed in 1640 in Cambridge, Massachusetts, by Stephen Daye, first printer of the Massachusetts Bay Colony. It is the very first book printed in what is now the United States.

Known as The Bay Psalm Book, but really titled The Whole Booke of Psalmes Faithfully Translated into English Metre, it represents what was most sacred to the Puritans--a faithful translation of God's Word, to be sung in worship by the entire congregation. Other Protestant denominations relied on selected paraphrases of the Scripture, but the Puritans believed this could compromise their salvation. The same faith that compelled them to leave England and strike out for the New World prompted them to commit this text to print before all others.


Library of Congress

  Rare Book & Special CollectionsDivision

What is an eBook?

E-book is a book that has been transferred to electronic format so that you can read the text directly from a PC, laptop, phone or special eBook reader. Electronic audio book playing through the Internet. One can  listeni to the reading of an electronic audio book of an  internet connected computer or a telephone. Audio book does not load down the hard disk.

Bookstore in America

Great Deals Every Day!

Welcome to BOOKSTORE IN AMERICA. We are an online bookstore selling books and magazines from many publishers.


Here you don´t have to worry about where we are located in your area. We are entirely an online store and you can ''go'' to our store when it is convenient for you because we are open 24/7. And our affiliated stores send what you buy straight to your door within several days and often at no cost to you. The first step is to go to the product categories listed on the left or the table here below (which you can find on every product page in the store) to find what you are looking for. Check out all the offers on the publishers pages when you arrive there.


            Thank you for choosing us as your bookstore and have a pleasant shopping experience!

Nobel Prize in literature


Nobel Prize in literature has been awarded annually for over a century, or since 1901 when the French poet Sully Prudhomme got them. Exceptions to this are the years 1914, 1918, 1935, 1940, 1941, 1942 and 1943. This particular year was no Nobel laureate in literature prize but was kept in a fund for future years. So far, the 95 authors received the Nobel Prize in literature and the list of those can be found here on the right. The youngest winner was Rudyard Kipling, author of The Jungle Book, but he was 42 years old when he received the award. The oldest was Doris Lessing, 88 years old. 12 women have received the prize, their first Selma Lagerlöf in 1909.

Nobel Prize Laureats in Literature 1901 - 2014


1901 Sully Prudhomme

1902 Theodor Mommsen

1903 Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson

1904 Frédéric Mistral - José Echegaray

1905 Henryk Sienkiewicz

1906 Giosuè Carducci

1907 Rudyard Kipling

1908 Rudolf Christoph Eucken

1909 Selma Lagerlöf

1910 Paul von Heyse

1911 Maurice Maeterlinck

1912 Gerhart Hauptmann

1913 Rabindranath Tagore


1915 Romain Rolland

1916 Verner von Heidenstam

1917 Karl Adolph Gjellerup-Henrik Pontoppidan


1919 Carl Spitteler

1920 Knut Hamsun

1921 Anatole France

1922 Jacinto Benavente

1923 William Butler Yeats

1924 Władysław Reymont

1925 George Bernard Shaw

1926 Grazia Deledda

1927 Henri Bergson

1928 Sigrid Undset

1929 Thomas Mann

1930 Sinclair Lewis

1931 Erik Axel Karlfeldt

1932 John Galsworthy

1933 Ivan Bunin

1934 Luigi Pirandello


1936 Eugene O'Neill

1937 Roger Martin du Gard

1938 Pearl S. Buck

1939 Frans Eemil Sillanpää





1944 Johannes Vilhelm Jensen

1945 Gabriela Mistral

1946 Hermann Hesse

1947 André Gide

1948 T. S. Eliot

1949 William Faulkner

1950 Bertrand Russell

1951 Pär Lagerkvist

1952 François Mauriac

1953 Winston Churchill

1954 Ernest Hemingway

1955 Halldór Laxness

1956 Juan Ramón Jiménez

1957 Albert Camus

1958 Boris Pasternak

1959 Salvatore Quasimodo

1960 Saint-John Perse

1961 Ivo Andrić

1962 John Steinbeck

1963 Giorgos Seferis

1964 Jean-Paul Sartre

1965 Mikhail Sholokhov

1966 Shmuel Yosef Agnon-Nelly Sachs

1967 Miguel Ángel Asturias


1968 Yasunari Kawabata

1969 Samuel Beckett

1970 Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

1971 Pablo Neruda

1972 Heinrich Böll

1973 Patrick White

1974 Eyvind Johnson-Harry Martinson

1975 Eugenio Montale

1976 Saul Bellow

1977 Vicente Aleixandre

1978 Isaac Bashevis Singer

1979 Odysseas Elytis

1980 Czesław Miłosz

1981 Elias Canetti

1982 Gabriel García Márquez

1983 William Golding

1984 Jaroslav Seifert

1985 Claude Simon

1986 Wole Soyinka

1987 Joseph Brodsky

1988 Naguib Mahfouz

1989 Camilo José Cela

1990 Octavio Paz

1991 Nadine Gordimer

1992 Derek Walcott

1993 Toni Morrison

1994 Kenzaburō Ōe

1995 Seamus Heaney

1996 Wisława Szymborska

1997 Dario Fo

1998 José Saramago

1999 Günter Grass

2000 Gao Xingjian

2001 V. S. Naipaul

2002 Imre Kertész

2003 J. M. Coetzee

2004 Elfriede Jelinek

2005 Harold Pinter

2006 Orhan Pamuk

2007 Doris Lessing

2008 J. M. G. Le Clézio

2009 Herta Müller

2010 Mario Vargas Llosa

2011 Tomas Tranströmer

2012 Mo Yan

2013 Alice Munro

2014 Patrick Modiano

bottom of page